MEETING OF THE CALIFORNIA INVASIVE SPECIES ADVISORY COMMITTEE

(ALL MEETINGS OPEN TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC)

Location: California Energy Commission Contact: Dr. Robert Leavitt, ISCC Acting Exec. Dir.,

1516 9th Street, Hearing Room B (916) 654-0462

Sacramento, CA 95814 Doug Johnson, CISAC Chair

(510) 843-3902

MEETING MINUTES FOR WEDNESDAY, JUNE 10, 2010

Item No.

(1) **CALL TO ORDER**

- (a) The meeting was called to order Wednesday, June 10, 2010 at approximately 10:05 a.m. by Doug Johnson, Chair to the California Invasive Species Advisory Committee.
- (b) Welcome remarks provided by Doug Johnson, Chair of CISAC, Secretary Kawamura, Chair of ISCC.
- (c) Pledge of Allegiance.

(2) **ROLL CALL**

Roll call taken by Sarah Her, CDFA.

Present:

Arcularius, Linda	Fox, Andrea	McDowell, Karen
Brandon, Victoria	Godfrey, Larry	Pattison, David
De Leon, Ricardo	Hoffman, Robert	Randall, John
DiTomaso, Joseph	Johnson, Doug	Schierenbeck, Kristina
Dolezal, Robert	Chapel, Mike	Sonnabend, Zea

Absent:

Batkin, Ted Faria, Dennis Tomlinson, Rick Chavarria, Gabriela Guise, Vince Warner, Keith

Conser, Christiana Maddux-Gonzalez, Mary

(3) **DISCUSSION/ACTION ITEMS**

The Committee discussed approval of the minutes from past meetings and protocols to be addressed in documenting prior meetings, and time for review. The Committee also discussed the length a member must serve according to the by-laws. Also discussed was that meetings should be scheduled 6 months to 1 year in advance because meeting dates often determine whether or not a person can be in attendance. The Committee went on to discuss active service of members and the terms stated by the by-laws. Suggestions made were to consider a one year's advance notice of meeting dates or at least six months notice. The Committee also discussed protocols surrounding decision making of the Chair and Vice Chair in the time between meetings.

The presentation concluded without formal action by the Committee.

The Committee discussed the transfer of vice chair from Ted Batkin to Andrea Fox.

MOTION: Committee member Victoria Brandon moved to approve that the position of vice chair be moved from Ted Batkin to Andrea Fox. Committee member Robert Dolezal seconded the motion and a unanimous vote carried the motion.

The Committee then discussed when a new chair and vice chair should be selected.

MOTION: Committee member Robert Dolezal moved to approve that the chair and vice chair serve 2 year terms, and hold elections yearly. His motion was not seconded.

<u>MOTION:</u> Committee member Kristina Schierenbeck moved to approve that the position of chair and vice chair be revisited yearly with re-election for up to 3 years. Committee member John Randall seconded the motion and a unanimous vote carried the motion.

The Committee discussed how to proceed with filling the current vacancy for the position of concerned public member left by Leigh Melander's resignation. Suggestions were made to consider replacing concerned public with other demographics that the group is missing such as: geographic differences (missing people representing Northern California), aquatic invasives experts, etc. Other alternatives were discussed as well as waiting for the new term to have a replacement begin in September. Lars Anderson (USDA-ARS aquatic weed expert) and Jay Goldsmith (National Park Service) were discussed as possible replacements for Leigh Melander. Their names were taken from a list of candidates originally nominated for the Committee.

<u>MOTION:</u> Committee member Robert Dolezal moved to fill the vacancy left by Leigh Melander's resignation, recommending both Lars Anderson and Jay Goldsmith to ISCC. Committee member John Randall seconded the motion and a unanimous vote carried the motion.

Also brought to the Committee's attention was the replacement of Mike Chapel by Julie Lydick of the Forest Service and that a formal recommendation should be made to the Council.

MOTION: Committee member Kristina Schierenbeck moved to approve the replacement of Mike Chapel with Julie Lydick. Committee member Ricadro DeLeon seconded the motion and a unanimous vote carried the motion.

(4) **DISCUSSION**

The Committee discussed Strategic Plan efforts in regards to the timeline, deadlines, what the goal is in presenting to the Legislature, group organization, and roles, etc. The intention is to finalize the strategic plan for presentation to Council members this fall before they have moved on due to administration changes. For implementation next year, it will be beneficial to keep staff such as Dorthea Zadig and Susan Ellis in the loop.

The discussion ended without formal action by the Committee.

(5) **DISCUSSION**

MOTION: After a short discussion and a few noted changes, Committee member John Randall moved to approve the April 21, 2010 minutes. Committee member Karen McDowell seconded the motion and a unanimous vote carried the motion.

(6) **DISCUSSION**

The Committee reviewed the overall Strategic Plan and Framework. The Committee split into two discussion groups following a brief discussion on the Leadership section. The first group contained the Prevention, Detection, Response, and Management Sections and the second group consisted of the Management, Outreach, Research, Laws and Regulations Sections. The two groups later convened to discuss their status.

The group later discussed whether or not to gather for a working meeting to discuss each section of the strategic plan. The discussion carried further with thoughts on how detailed the plan should be such as strategies, budgets, and responsible entities. It was recommended that these details be left out for now, and

that the group then focus their efforts on becoming more specific on each of the recommendations provided after November when the plan is submitted. .

The Committee will go back to the ISCC to confirm what their expectations are for the strategic plan. Robert Leavitt will work with Susan Ellis to gather members of the ISCC to meet on this topic. In the meantime, the groups will expand on verbiage within each of the actions recommendations. Karen McDowell and Doug Johnson will put together an explicit template.

The discussion ended without formal action by the Committee.

(7) INVASIVE SPECIES UPDATES

Dr. Robert Leavitt, Executive Director of the ISCC and Director of Plant Health and Pest Prevention Services, CDFA, provided an update to the Committee on the European Grapevine Moth and the Light Brown Apple Moth. Susan Ellis, DFG Invasive Species Coordinator, provided an update on the Environmental Law Institute (ELI) report, an ESPN story on invasive species, and a proposed resolution from the Western Governors Association.

(8) **CLOSING COMMENTS**

The meeting concluded following the invasive species updates.

(9) PUBLIC COMMENTS AND ADJOURNMENT

There was no public comment. The meeting adjourned at 4:00.